1643, 19 May. NEW ENGLAND CONFEDERATION. As a result of experience in the Pequot War, in which military action was not well coordinated, and the threat of Dutch expansion, representatives from Massachusetts, Plymouth, Connecticut, and New Haven,meeting at Boston, drew up 12 articles of confederation, which were ratified by the four colonies, The United Colonies of New England represented a union of the four colonies, each of whose territorial integrity was guaranteed. The government was a board of eight commissioners, two from each colony, chosen annually by their respective general courts. The commissioners were empowered to declare both offensive and defensive war, the expenses for which were to be borne by the colonies in proportion to the number of their male inhabitants between 16 and 60. In addition, the commissioners were given jurisdiction over interstate quarrels, fugitive servants, fugitives from justice, and Indian affairs. Six votes were required for a decision. Annual sessions were held until 1664, occasional meetings prior to King Philip's War, which served as the basis for renewed activity. Thereafter activity virtually ceased, and the union was terminated. (The Encyclopedia of American History Edited by Richard B. Morris, professor of history, Columbia University, Harper and Brothers, New York, 1953, p.36)