1664, 4 Oct.-1668, 21 Apr. ESTABLISHMENT OF ENGLISH RULE. Nicholls renamed New Amsterdam New York in honor of the Duke of York, but permitted the Dutch municipal officers to continue to function and even to name their own successors (2 Feb. 1665). Long Island, Staten Island, and Westchester, were constituted as "Yorkshire," with three ridings (East, Suffolk Co..; West, Staten Island, Brooklyn and northwest Queens; and North, Westchester and central Long Island). A meeting at Hempstead (11 Mar. 1665) of 34 deputies from 17 towns from Westchester and Long Island (13 English and 4 Dutch) approved th Duke's Laws ( compilation by Matthias Nicolls), which contained a civil and criminal code, based in part on New England codes, provided for the election of overseers and a constable in each town, set up a general provincial organization of the courts and the militia, and assured freedom of conscience. Initially, the code applied only to "Yorkshire," but it was later extended to the Delaware (21 Apr. 1668). In June 1665, the offices of mayor, alderman, and sheriff in New York City, all appointed for 1 year by the governor, replaced the schout, burgomasters, and schepens. As a result of the Second Anglo-Dutch War (Dec. 1664-July 1667) Nicolls confiscated all property of the Dutch West India Co. (23 Feb. 1663) as well as the property of Dutch owners who had not taken the oath of allegiance to the British crown (10 Oct.). The Peace of Beda (21 July 1667) ending the war confirming the English possession of New Netherland. Pursuing the same general policy of conciliation, Nicolls' successor, Col. Francis Lovelace (1668-73) refrained from extending the Duke's Laws to the predominantly Dutch areas of Kingston (Esopus, Wiltwyck), Albany, and Schenectady (settled 1661). The Encyclopedia of American History Edited by Richard B. Morris, professor of history, Columbia University, Harper and Brothers, New York, 1953, p. 44.